Baby Led Weaning- Nope!

One of my many great ideas about parenting was Baby Led Weaning. No extra hassle- just let the baby have unsalted, overcooked versions of what you’re having. I figured it would even encourage us to eat healthier as there’s no way I’d let my little cherub ingest the toxic garbage the Mummy and I regularly put in our bodies.

So, a few days short of his half birthday the Baby was wrangled into his brand new highchair, a bib sporting an obnoxious slogan was fixed around his neck and I handed him a finger-sized piece of deseeded watermelon.

blw2

He somewhat nervously licked it, pulled a face, licked it again, pulled another face and then had a nibble. Then this happened.

vomit baby

Okaaaaay. Thought I maybe he wasn’t ready. A week or so passed and I thought we’d take another pass. Maybe we bit off more than he could chew. I cooked the heck out of some carrots, let them cool then offered him a teeny, tiny, minuscule piece.

blw1

He very trustingly opened his mouth and allowed me to deposit the microscopic carrot in his mouth.

vomit baby

Okaaaay. I figured maybe he’s not ready for pieces yet. Maybe he needs some mush. So I got busy with the world’s most ripe banana and mashed it to death with a fork.

blw3

vomit baby

Different days, different foods, same result. They say the definition of insanity is doing something over and over but expecting a different same outcome. That’s me at the moment. Yesterday I gave him some waffle in a restaurant (what was I thinking??) and then had to finish my dessert with a stinking hand from where I’d caught his vomit explosion in order to save my clothes. So we had a rethink….

Ah, stuff it!’

blender

Have any of you had more success with Baby Led Weaning? Any tips and tricks you’d like to share with the group?

Like what you read? Subscribe or be my friend on twitter or facebook 🙂

10 thoughts on “Baby Led Weaning- Nope!

  1. We did baby led weaning with both kids. I think maybe you were putting in too much effort by Overcooking food or chopping it up small. Some of the first things we did were rice cakes – just give them a whole one and they kind of gum tiny bits off, toast fingers are good too or give them a banana to hold and he will kind of suck on it. Ours didn’t gag much but maybe you could try giving the finger foods a long time after he has had milk so your are less likely to get large volume pukes. I liked blw because it was easy and I didn’t have to take special food out with me I could just give Helen half my sandwich, also I like to eat my own food at mealtimes instead of feeding my child (maybe I am not a good person) – but if it isn’t working for you I wouldn’t worry too much. My children are still super fussy now despite our cool hippy weaning regime.

    Like

    • Haha! I was totally keen on the ‘hippy weaning regime’ also because I am possibly not a good person (I enjoy my meals fresh and hot). We did try things like toast and rusks but with the same reaction…however *cliff hanger!* see tomorrow’s post for a BLW update.
      Thanks so much for the advice!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The baby led weaning sounded like more work to me than making purees and oatmeal. I’m paranoid about choking too. A mom in my mom group has been very successful with it. I think making the purees is fun, and I’ve been gradually making them thicker (peas and sweet potato especially).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. One of my friends with a 4 month old mixed a tablespoon of rice cereal with three tablespoons of breast milk and gave it to her daughter to introduce solids. It might help just because it’s so bland!

    Like

Leave a comment