The Baby’s Inadvertent Warning Alarm

You know when you see parent with their kids on one of those backpack leashes? Or when you’re being driven mad by the kid in the airport running around in the squeaky shoes? Those clever parents have used those tools for a reason. To avoid their tots doing what kids do best: getting into trouble.

We’ve baby-proofed as best we can for the moment. Somethings, however cannot be removed or made completely baby-friendly. I am now regretting the floor lamps- for example. And the Dog, with her highly chewable feet and her licky ways.

The bad news is the Baby is still at the soldier-crawl stage and not yet ready for the aforementioned trouble prevention tools. The good news is the Baby has come with his own, inbuilt trouble alert-er.

When the Baby spots something he shouldn’t have or decides to do something he shouldn’t do he gets excited and emits a little giggle as he races towards said forbidden object. This giggle is particular to this activity. It is heard and responded to by the mummies from up to 500 yards away, through nursery rhymes and thunder. It.is.amazing. I’m pretty sure it has prevented some trips to Accident and Emergency.

Please don’t get better at being naughty, Baby. The mummies need their early warning system!

DSC_1659

Does your kid have an accidental way of letting you know they’re up to something?

*****************Come be my friend!******************

Help me get over my high school unpopularity issues. 

Subscribe or be my friend on twitter or facebook  or pinterest 🙂

Mummascribbles

17 thoughts on “The Baby’s Inadvertent Warning Alarm

  1. Mine never had the alarm – I just caught him in the act. I still do now – he’s two and a half and I gave up on toddler proofing – every time I moved something out of reach, he quickly grew tall enough to reach it! thanks so much for linking up with #twinklytuesday

    Like

  2. Amelia’s at that age at the moment the naughty toddler age when if she disappears and goes silent for tooo long I know she’s up to something!! Thanks so much for linking up #MummyMonday host xx

    Like

  3. My daughter’s warning sign is something like a war cry, lol she does this like thing with her tongue where she makes a noise and that lets us know it’s about to go down. Love your illustrations!

    Like

  4. This is funny.
    I know as soon as there is silence, he is up to something! Other than that I have no pre-warning, my baby seems to find mischief everywhere!! Babies are very clever little people.

    Like

  5. Ahh, I think I was lucky with my LO, he sort of stayed around my feet when he was crawling – mummy’s boy. You’re lucky you’re baby has a free spirit! #mummymonday
    Sabrina x

    Like

  6. I miss my toddler being at the crawling stage, she’s 2 years 3 months and such hard work now I have to have eyes on her at all times otherwise the things she gets up to can be deadly hehe x

    Like

    • I’m dreading it. It’s bad enough having to chase him around when he’s crawling but at least he’s still a bit slow and I have a chance to haul myself out of the sofa and catch him before he can wrap his lips around the dog’s feet.

      Like

  7. Thankfully my lo wasn’t too sneaky when was at the crawling stage but now that she is up and about running, it does get very tricky. She doesn’t really give advance clues as to what trouble she is up to so I have to be very watchful at all times with her. 🙂 #mummymonday

    Like

Leave a comment