Talking to threenagers.

I teach English in a school in Thailand part time. I almost never teach native English speaking children. Sometimes I am teaching very young children their third language.

Often I find myself in situations like this:

nonsense 1

I think to myself, ‘Hmm. Pretty sure that’s not Thai, Spanish, French, Dutch, German or English….’

sorry

nonsense 2

‘Yep. Still got no idea. ‘ I look around for inspiration. Zilch.

dont understant!!!!

‘Uh oh. This isn’t looking good. The p-ed off expression is heading toward a melt down expression. Think fast!’

um..ok

student happy

‘Phew, that did it. Crisis averted. Still got no idea what she was trying to say.’

 

 

Ever have any problems figuring out what kids are trying to tell you?

*****************Come be my friend!******************

Help me get over my high school unpopularity issues. 

Subscribe or be my friend on twitter or facebook  or pinterest 🙂

Mummascribbles
The Little Life of Ickle Pickle
Let's Talk Mommy
Super Busy Mum

28 thoughts on “Talking to threenagers.

  1. This is me and my toddler…EVERYDAY! She’s only starting to babble more pronounced now and even say a few words, but man….I go through all of the possibilities faster and faster as soon as I see her face go from 🙂 to :/ to :{ to finally >.< haha!! Thanks so much for linking up! #MMWBH

    Like

  2. Brilliant post. I don’t have a clue what anyone in my house says half the time, but ‘yes’ seems to avert disaster, thanks so much for linking up with #myfavouritepost

    Like

  3. This is hilarious and probably true. I am so scared for the teenage years and they actually scare me a little the hormones, mood swings and attitude. I dont’ know how I will cope with two teenagers at the same time. EEEK. Hide under a rock for a few years perhaps. Can I do that? lol Thanks for linking up to Share With Me #sharewithme

    Like

  4. Oh this made me laugh so much. Boo speaks toddler babble at the minute and I am clueless we get English words sometimes and the odd Danish word too, I can’t wait til we get a more complete mix of all three – that’s going to be super confusing!

    Like

    • My patience can also be a little lacking. But I’ve learned a lot of coping mechanisms :-). Ugh, not looking forward to learning new slang either.

      Like

Leave a comment