And I thought I used to know nothing about babies…

Today the Baby and I had a trip out into the real world and I came to two conclusions: People are so sweet to babies and being sweet doesn’t necessarily mean you know anything about babies.

I had half an hour or normal shopping, wearing a sleeping Baby on my back and having most people ignore me thinking I was just wearing a regular backpack. Then, just as I ordered a coffee (of course) he woke up. Then I was treated to smiles and conversations from suddenly friendly strangers for the rest of the trip.

here's some sugar
Thanks to the well-meaning man who tried to give my baby a bottle of sugar. The thought was nice but I think we’ll stick to water and milk for the moment. Also if you hear a mother repeating ‘Doesn’t want, thanks’ in your language over and over, please heed her. Even if the Baby is reaching out with a look in his eye like he really really wants it.

one month

And the gent in the lift who thought I pushed that 8 kg baby out of my vagina a month ago, no. Thank all that is good, I did not. He did enough damage at 4 kg almost 10 months ago.

If you like this could you be an absolute darling and nominate me for the MADS in the ‘Baby Blogs’ section? All you need is your email address and http://pooprainbows.com. Takes about 1 minute. Gracias, วิธีสมัครเว็บ, merci, danke, and cheers m’duck!

Tots100 MAD Blog Awards
The Dad Network
Stopping at two

32 thoughts on “And I thought I used to know nothing about babies…

  1. Great post. It’s funny how people suddenly fall into being complete idiots with what they say an do. You’d think 6 years down the line id know better and sadly I don’t. I am one of those idiots who do silly things like this even though I know how wrong it is. :/
    I know babies far too well bit I think social interactions lead you to believe that you need to interact and from that stupidity come. Thanks for linking up with us on the #bigfatlinky hope to see you there this week

    Like

    • Yes. My social stupidities are usually amplified by a loose grasp of the language I’m communicating in. Especially Thai, the language in which the phrases ‘take off your t-shirt’ and ‘deep fry your t-shirt’ are the same words with a different tone.
      Thanks for hosting. See you next week!

      Like

    • Right! I think our baby is so used to it now he just gets p-ed off if people don’t chat to him, ‘Eh?! Where’s my attention!!’

      Like

    • Honestly I wince and hit a mental, vaginally-induced block when I get close to thinking about it. I’m pretty sure no one in possession of a vagina would ever make this mistake.

      Like

    • Right! The guy with the pop had a young son with him too. I wonder if his own kid was swigging fizz before he could walk.

      Thanks for hosting.

      Like

  2. Waiters have been asking us since he was 5-6 months if we want a children’s menu for him. No thank you, I don’t think he is ready for pizza or chicken fingers.

    Like

    • Certainly I didn’t know a lot, but I like to think I wouldn’t try to give someone’s baby a soda or mistake a 10 month old for a newborn.

      Like

  3. LOL an attendant in the supermarket recently tried to give my not even 2 year old daughter a bag of Peppa Pig sweets when she was screaming. Good diversion tactic but LIKE THAT’S WHAT SHE REALLY NEEDS! #bigfatlinky

    Like

  4. Oh dear I take things so literally. I thought you meant an actual bottle of sugar- I was thinking ‘is that some sort of weird Thai thing?’ Irn-bru in a bottle is a common sight round here!!

    Like

    • Ha! All the more for you then. We’re seeing Grandma for the first time in 6 months this summer. I have no doubt her handbag is going to be full of milky bars and other forbidden bribes.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Haha! Baby’s first food, perfect. It’s cool if you have no clue about babies but maybe check with the parent first before you try to give them something?

      Like

Leave a comment