The Aquisition of Language: Learning to Understand but Ignore One’s Parents

The Baby is starting to understand some of things which are said to him. Understand, I’d like to stress, not heed. Although I’ve heard that doesn’t happen until after the teenage years. Or beyond.

Anyway, I digress. He knows who the Dog is and will look for her when asked. He will race across the room at the speed of light if you utter the word ‘Cheerios’. He will stop, smile and then go in for another chomp if you say ‘no biting’.

‘Sit down’, ‘hold on tight’ and ‘careful’ are also understood in both Thai and English. The Mummy has kicked it up a notch with speaking Thai in the house and it looks like Thai might be the first language the Baby learns. Even I can’t manage not to learn a little as she calls to him to ‘use two hands’, incessantly, in an increasing pitch.

He also will hand things over…most of the time. Which is great and has made giving him a loaded spoon much more appealing. It was not fun before when he’d take a bite and immediately hurl it on the floor, spraying its soggy contents everywhere.

Watching him learn is one of the highlights for parenting for me. I get truly excited when I see him figure out something new. Although often my life immediately becomes more difficult.

With these new developments I can foresee fun times in my lazy future…

‘Baby, before you go to bed can you grab me another cold one from the fridge, please?’

baby fetch beer

Can’t wait!

Does your kid understand and listen to you?

Super Busy Mum
Let's Talk Mommy

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

23 thoughts on “The Aquisition of Language: Learning to Understand but Ignore One’s Parents

  1. My kids do this ALL THE TIME! It destroys me how much I have to actually repeat myself time and time and TIME again to them. Total face palmage every.damn.day!! Can you tell I’m super deflated by it? lol! Thanks for linking up with #MMWBH

    Like

  2. My kids definitely understand me but often don’t listen and carry on. Its selective hearing in this house think hubby may have it too. lol Thank you so much for linking up to Share With Me. I hope to see you again tomorrow for another great round #sharewithme

    Like

  3. My toddler doesn’t understand a word I say when it suits him. If I ask him to fetch a beer…nothing. when I ask him if he wants Haribo…he runs towards me with delight.
    It seems unfair if you ask me.
    Unjust!!!
    #brilliantblogposts

    Like

    • Hardcore sellotape a mini packet of Haribo to your beer and wait for him to bring it to you to ask for help?
      My dog is of a similar persuasion. I’d suggest it shows above average smarts. What’s the point if there’s nothing in it for me?

      Like

  4. Right now they are both very much a “NO” here haha. Just walking them both home from pre-school is taking it’s tall and it takes me almost an our to do a 15min walk. haha
    Henry has started running away from me now as well, and he’ll just keep running or walking down the path while I try to catch up…

    Like

    • I intend to be all about the child leashes when that time comes. I imagine it will be like those youtube videos where people try to walk their cat and end up dragging it face down along the street. With a harness, so it’s humane. Not with a collar 🙂

      Like

  5. I am happy that you lo understands you! I still feel that all my talking….well…goes misundertsood or simply ignored! But if I choose to ignore or misunderstand him…? Hell goes loose! 🙂 x
    #brilliantblogposts

    Like

    • Haha! We’re mostly ignored too. I think that’s normal. Plus we’re always saying boring repetitive stuff like ‘hold on tight’ ‘don’t maul/pull/lick the dog’ and ‘ouch, that hurts’.

      Like

  6. This is great as my 18 month old is at the same stage. she obeyed me for the first time when I started to count to three yesterday. I was in shock but didn’t let it show. Hoping that we may be getting somewhere, as my little boy always disliked being told no, but this one just laughs in my face. It’s a great phase haha. Thanks for sharing #sharewithme

    Like

  7. It is fantastic to see those connections being made in their minds and understanding emerging. Even greater when you see them understand and decide to ignore it. Free will, its frustrating at times as a parent but so good to see develop. Great post. Made me smile. Thanks

    Like

    • True. Yes, good to remember that you don’t always want him to do as he’s told and thinking for himself is good. Definitely frustrating but good.
      Thanks, m’ dear!

      Like

Leave a comment