My Baby Has PMS

Really.

You know when it’s nearing that time of the month and you find yourself crying over adverts? Or when you can’t find a parking space? Or when you run out of chocolate?

How about when something is so funny you laugh until you cry but then those tears morph into ugly sobbing but you have no idea why?

The Baby has been treating us to some great giggles recently. His mother’s comedic wit and originality, doing things like saying his name or bouncing a ball elicits laughter verging on hysteria. There is no set formula. Often what works one day will be met with a condescending look the next. The hilarity may ensue for anywhere between two minutes and twenty.

baby laughing

It’s cute and lovely. But then the PMS raises its ugly head and he starts crying out of nowhere. What in the what what?

baby cry

Previously cherished toys encourage sobbing when offered. Funny stories have him speaking Whinese. Singing prolongs the agony (although with my singing that may be for another reason)

What do you do for a PMSing 10 month old?

Um… ice cream, chocolate, weepy movie, Glee, Friends, pizza, crisps more Cheerios?

Have you nominated anyone for the MADS awards yet? I’d love your vote under the Baby section. You just need your email address and my webpage address. Takes two minutes and gives me a warm glowy feeling. Thank you!

Tots100 MAD Blog Awards

Mummascribbles</div

24 thoughts on “My Baby Has PMS

  1. Haha! I put ALL these things down to teething. Anything negative is *always* down to ‘teeth’ in our house!! I wish I was able to offer gin and chocolate but I’d probably be locked up so the boys settle for Calpol and a Farley’s rusk 😉 Thanks so much for linking up with #TwinklyTuesday x

    Caro | http://www.thetwinklediaries.co.uk

    Like

    • Yeah, teeth was one of the many questionable problems we attempted to fix. Rusks- aka crumb bombs, have been replaced in our house in favour of rice crackers.
      Thanks for hosting!

      Like

  2. Ah this is so funny and so true. Boo has days (weeks) like these, I usually put these days down to teething but maybe it’s not teething!

    Like

  3. My daughter (5) suffers similar, once a month, fortunately it coincides with her mothers so my house has a fun week it is in now way full of arguments or tears (some one really needs to invent a sarcasm font).

    Like

    • Two grown women in this house so you can imagine, I’m sure. I’ve heard that men can also be sufferers too….I think sarcasm is a known side effect
      And yes, seriously, where is the sarcasm font?! This is 2015 for goodness sake!

      Like

  4. Too funny! When our kids have done this we call it, “happy mad”, because one second they are crying then laughing then crying. Repeat. Thanks to teething, our 5 m/o baby is happy mad all the time right now.

    I’m stopping by from Domesticated Momster’s Friday Top 5. Here’s my recent post: Mundane Monday Morning. A poem about how glamorous motherhood is. http://www.mytalesfromthecrib.blogspot.com/2015/05/this-is-my-motherhood-mundane-monday.html?m=1

    Like

    • ‘Happy Mad’ I like it. Teething is dreadful. I’m not sure if that’s what’s up with our tot as he slams his jaws shut anything I come near to have a look. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  5. hehe, very funny. They are totally unpredictable. Sometimes there is nothing that will console them. Wine for you is the only solution. x

    Like

  6. haha! Such a great title for a blog!

    My son is 2 and still has his moments. He doesn’t talk yet so I still at a loss as to what’s up with him! I’m hoping he’ll grow out of it. 🙂
    #mummymonday

    Like

    • Thanks for the compliment, Eimear. I have a friend with the same name here. Hilarious listening to our Thai colleagues call her Eeemeeer 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment