Nappy Changing Wars

 

Since the introduction of a range of solids into the Baby’s diet his nappies have gone from unpleasant to ‘for the love of…! What in the…?!’.

It’s not nice for us and it can’t be nice for him. We at least can cross the room. The smell of hospital food teamed with rotten garbage with a side of dead animal follows the poor boy. So you’d think that he would be pleased that we sacrifice our noses and appetites in order to change his smelly butt. You’d be wrong.

Thankfully the days of having to worry about what his hose penis is up to seem to be behind us. As are the days of never ending magma poop the minute his nappy is removed. Honestly though, I’d return to those days to escape the nappy changing wars we have now.

We have a comfy, padded changing mat that was bought (by Grandma) from a fancy branded store. We even offer him some normally forbidden not-toy in an effort to occupy him. Regardless he will not lie on his back for longer than 15 seconds. If anyone is able to get into all the nooks and crannies and pick the dry, undigested pieces of food off his butt cheeks in that time period I’d love to know how. Seriously.

After 15 seconds he tries to spin and I try to stop him so he doesn’t spread poop EVERYWHERE. Then we wind up like this:

nappy change position

Seriously, help.

 

Voting for the MADS closes on the 27th at 5pm GMT, I’d love your vote under the Baby section. You just need your email address and my webpage address. Takes two minutes and gives me a warm glowy feeling. Thank you!

Tots100 MAD Blog Awards

Let's Talk Mommy
Super Busy Mum

28 thoughts on “Nappy Changing Wars

  1. Oh dear that really does sound like a wrestling match. Bless you. Wish I had offers of encouragement or advice. Not experienced it before. I hate to say but hopefully it’s just a phase. But that’s a cop out. Maybe try preparing him a little ahead we are doing your diaper soon you must lay still and had a few toys… I am sure you have tried this. Bless you. Thanks for linking up to Share With Me I hope you are enjoying my blog hop and thanks for all the linky support! #sharewithme

    Like

    • Lucky you to have avoided this one. Poopy butt straight into the sink is making life easier. Plus saving us a fortune on wipes and getting him nice and clean.
      Yours is a good linky, I appreciate all the work you put into it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha I’m definitely in this same stage! I usually end up alternatively begging for my boy to hold still and trying to wrestle him into position for a few minutes. Maybe it’s a boy thing. 🙂

    Like

  3. This is my life right now. Our guys are about the same age I think (my is 10.5 months) and based on your posts they seem like kindred spirits. Most diaper changes happen while he’s standing up (even some of the poop ones) I’m getting quite efficient at it.

    Like

    • Good for you! I’m hopeless. He doesn’t stay still when standing either and I just get poop everywhere. My wife would probably say I need more practice as she does more than her fair share while I’m at work 🙂 (phew)

      Like

  4. Lol, love that picture – so very true! I usually let go for a brief second to grab something and see a little bottom rapidly disappearing across the room! 🙂

    Like

    • Haha! Yes, we would have a rapidly escaping bottom if we let go for even a second. A bottom hounded by the dog trying to help with the cleaning, no doubt!

      Like

    • We have a ‘bum gun’ next to the loo and have tried to use it but I haven’t quite figured out how to do it without spraying poo everywhere yet. Maybe a sink would be easier….

      Like

  5. Haha all three of mine have done this!If he was there I’d tag team with the hubby but if he wasn’t I’d just snivel into my poo covered hands!They do grow out of it though…eventually 😆

    Like

  6. Haha, this is exactly how Eden was a few months ago. She would seriously hurt my back, it got to wear it took 2 of us to change her, and I’d usually hand her to my husband as my back couldn’t take it. Thankfully she grew out of it, haha, hope your little one gets there soon xx #sharewithme

    Like

Leave a comment