How to Throw a Great Kids Party

Recently a friend, who is an amazing mother of three, and her husband schooled me in how to throw an amazing kids birthday party.

She warned us before we attended that her family tended to go all out for birthdays and I began to feel worried. Really, when was the last time you truly enjoyed a kids party? Also, as a school teacher my idea of hell is spending another day surrounded by loads of kids hopped up on sugar and excitement. I started getting an eye twitch in the run up similar to my normal ‘November/December in a Kindergarten Class’ PTSD.

Turns out I was wrong. Really really wrong. This party was AH-MAZING for everyone who attended. So here are some tips I gleaned on how to throw a kids party that wont make all the adults want to put their fingers deep into their eye sockets and shoogle them around.

1. Pick an easy, flexible theme.

My friend’s daughter chose ‘Under the Sea’. Perfect. For the scrooges/insanely busy people who want minimal effort a surfer/beach bum ‘costume’ can be created from every day clothes. Little girls (or mums…or dads) can live out fantasies of being mermaids. First time and Pinteresting mums (like me) can get creative with a sewing kit. Everyone’s a winner.

fancy dress

2. Threaten people with dodgy headwear to ensure they don costumes.

under the sea party invitation

3. Make ridiculously strong cocktails.

I was half-cut just smelling my first blue margarita. It was also served in a dry-ice, smoking beer tower. ‘Nuf said.

4. Create a themed playlist which has adult and kid favorites intertwined.

The kids are boogying to tracks from ‘The Little Mermaid’ and in the next breath the adults are belting out ‘SAIL!” or drunkenly singing along to ‘Yellow Submarine’.

5. Organize games for the kids.

When the littles started getting rambunctious the games began. Water themed hilarity ensued, leaving the parents peace and quiet with their cocktails and free entertainment in the form of small children.

6. Fantastically cute, themed food.

Further ensure the parents are able to fully appreciate their cocktails by making the snacks so cute the kids eat without being forced and no attention is subtracted from the margaritas.

Under the sea party snacks

7. Ready a themed video that the kids haven’t seen before.

My friends chose a documentary about the ocean. The quickly tiring littles got a short period to recharge. The adults got more cocktail time.

8. Be awesomely enthusiastic, tireless and creative hosts.

Really this party was such a hit because of T. and J. I’m not convince anyone would look quite as good in a saucy mermaid costume as either of them or be able to be on the go, constantly for such a long period without breaking their smiles or hitting the sauce as hard as all the other adults present.

family under the sea costumes

T. and J. if you are reading this, lower your expectations for the first party of mine you attend. Seriously. Nope, lower than that. Still lower, keep going.

Friday Frolics

24 thoughts on “How to Throw a Great Kids Party

  1. You had me at cocktails :)) I have not had a birthday party for any of my littles yet…only family members, a cake, and presents. But now with all 3 of them in school this fall I know they will be making friends and I will be guilted into having them. I still absolutely love your illustrations!

    Like

  2. That sounds like it was an amazing party and the crab hat of shame made me chuckle. Sounds like your friends did a brilliant job of keeping both the adults and the kids entertained and thank you for sharing the tips! 🙂

    Like

    • You’re welcome. Yes, I think keeping the kids busy was key. No stress inducing naughtiness which will happen if they are left to their own devices for too long.

      Like

  3. These guys sound awesome! And have obviously done a lot of research to keep kids entertained, and adults happy with booze. Alcohol makes everyone relax. It should be at all kids parties 😉

    Like

    • They are great. Definitely did a better job entertaining the kids than I would have done. Thumbs up for alcohol at kids parties from me!

      Like

  4. The “crab hat of shame” was from Oriental Trading company, I think. I also had a “Shark hat or shame” and a “Nemo fish hat of shame.” Agreed. Lots of people liked those hats!!
    P.S. Totally in awe over such a nice write up. Thanks! 🙂

    Like

  5. That does sound like a brilliant party (for adults too), and I now want a crab hat of shame and some clam crackers! 😀

    Like

    • The snacks were ace. Ate way more than my fair share. I think the ‘crab hat of shame’ idea might have backfired a little as the hats they had were better than my homemade costume!

      Like

Leave a comment