How Not To Babyproof

I walked into the kitchen the other day to find the Baby gleefully opening and closing one of the sliding drawers. The drawer full of tupperwear? No, of course not. No, he was playing in the drawer where we keep all the big, sharp knifes and other finger removing utensils.

Woops, thought I. Time to up ante on the baby-proofing…again.

So off we trudged to the local cheapo store where we’d heard rumor of affordable baby locks and other goodies. Bearing in mind it took me a week to ‘adapt’ the fan cover we bought there to make it function, I should have known better.

Number of locks purchased and installed: 5

Number of times I couldn’t figure the locks out to get into the cupboard: 4

Number of locks broken in first hour by mummies forgetting they are there: 3

Number of locks still in place and functional: 1

Number of times the Baby has tried to open the locked cupboard since the locks were installed: 0

babyproofing

We’re leaving the impenetrable lock on the poison cupboard because we don’t want the Baby chugging back bleach, I can’t figure out how to open the flaming thing anyway and it gives me an excuse not to clean as I can’t access the chemicals.

The lock on the big knife drawer was the first to break…..He’ll only mess around with huge knives once though, right?

 

****If you enjoyed this I’d really appreciate your vote for the MAD Blogging Awards. Just click on the link, add your name and email and select Poop Rainbows in the ‘Baby’ category. Thank you!

https://tots100.co.uk/vote/

MAD Blog Awards UK 2015

The Twinkle Diaries

32 thoughts on “How Not To Babyproof

    • 100% yes! As you say they are more likely to find the dangerous stuff and be able to open it when they get older. I’d say you could feasibly use that excuse until they’re old enough to be trained to clean the bathroom themselves.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. We’re gearing up for baby proofing and my mom, in all her think spanish accentedness says to us, “Gwy jew putten dat? When you was a baby, jew touch it, i give you pow pow, you no touch it again!” Really mom?! That’s how you baby proofed? “Are jew alive?! Bueno! Berry good baby proofing!”…i just cannot!

    Like

    • Haha, that was my mother’s response too. Except in a more prim, English way. I think her words were ‘I never babyproofed. My children knew not to touch things’. I suspect there was an unmentioned ‘pow pow’ in that solution too.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha that is SO TRUE! Except I always found that my kids were able to open the ones I couldn’t. Oops…lock fail. I don’t know if you got a ping-back, but I gave you a shout-out on my blog “Awards” from yesterday.😆

    Like

    • It wouldn’t surprise me. The Baby is adept at using his little razor fingernails to pick off stickers I thought were firmly attached. Oh, I didn’t, no. I’ll go and check it out, thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Haha! We’ve never put locks on our kitchen cupboard drawers… we just close the main door to the kitchen and the twins aren’t granted access!! LOL! Poor babies — it that mean??! Thanks so much for linking up with #TwinklyTuesday — hope to see you again next week! x

    Caro | http://www.thetwinklediaries.co.uk

    Like

  4. Well at least you went to the effort of putting them on! I bought some when Reeve was at an age of getting into drawers/cupboards……then I couldn’t figure out how to install them. So I just went “Meh”, it will be fine. Hopeless mother I am.

    Like

  5. Ha, I can relate to this. We put child-proof locks on all of our kitchen and bathroom cupboard doors. They worked brilliantly. So good in fact that neither myself or my husband could get into the cupboards! o_O

    #mummymonday

    Like

  6. Oh no! Our llittlest is now managing to reach into the cutlery drawer too. I have to remind my husband not to put the sharp pointy things in there now… 🙂

    Like

    • I’m hoping our tot has forgotten the delights of the pointy things drawer but I suspect he’s just biding his time, waiting of an opportunity to cut off one of his fingers.

      Like

    • We use the plug covers as the Baby has a morbid fascination with trying to stick his fingers in the holes. They also work to well, I can never get them out to put the plug in.

      Like

  7. brilliant post. I’ve just had baby no# 3 after a 7 year gap from my 2 boys and I’m dreading going back to this!! I’ll never forget one of my boys managing to drink dishwasher rinse aid in the 10 seconds that I wasn’t watching him. That’s what inspired our last lot of kitchen security. Might try and get ahead of the game this time!

    Like

    • Ouch. holes from baby proofing? I guess if stuff was screwed in it’d be a little stronger than the stickers we have. Don’t think our landlords would be too happy though,

      Like

Leave a comment