Being Sick in Thailand vs Being Sick in the UK

We’ve been infectious as a family for over a week now and I’ve had ample opportunities to compare the healthcare systems here to the NHS in the UK. Here are some of the main differences.

1. Making an appointment.

In the UK

appointment 1

You phone up and wind up with an appointment so far in the future you’ll either have recovered or be dead.

In Thailand

appointment 2

You don’t need to call and make an appointment. No one keeps to appointment schedules anyway. Appointment or not you’ll be sitting there for half an hour so you might as well just show up.

 

2. Needing a scan/surgery/further treatment.

In the UK

You’ve been seen by a medical professional multiple times. They’ve tried fobbing you off with an exercise sheet and a prescription. With a heavy sigh they add you to the wait list which is usually 6 months or longer.

In Thailand

The doctor has barely looked at you before you booted off to the MRI machine. By the time you’ve redressed and walked back to his room he has your results and is gleefully sharpening up his scalpels. You’ve barely had time to digest your prognosis and google your condition and he’s booking you in for surgery than weekend.

 

3. Diagnosis and Treatment.

In the UK

dr uk

A raised eyebrow and a hint of judgement suggests that you shouldn’t have bothered wasting his time. Even if you felt like you were knocking at death’s door. Pull yourself together. Stiff upper lip and all that.

 

In Thailand

dr thailand

Never mind that you don’t have half of the symptoms he is medicating you for. Nor the fact that you have plenty of (much cheaper) Tylenol at home. Doctors are trigger happy with their prescription pads and the hospitals are more than pleased to make some profit on unnecessary drugs.

 

4. The End

In the UK

You skip merrily off into the sunset with nothing more than a goodbye and possibly a follow-up appointment.

In Thailand

You’re directed to a cashier’s desk where someone hands you a bill which makes your eyes bulge out. You hand them your insurance card with your fingers crossed, praying your insurance covers it.

 

 

 

 

Friday Frolics
Domestic Momster
The Dad Network

50 thoughts on “Being Sick in Thailand vs Being Sick in the UK

  1. This was funny. I like the NHS. I have never had a problem with them. They are usually very quick, friendly and efficient. I’m used of the type of service you are mention about Thailand as I’m peruvian and the system is similar. Huge bills and lots of medicines but to be honest I like to have all the medicines possible if they will help me LOL For how long have you been in Thailand? Xx #bigfatlinky

    Like

    • Yeah, I think the difference is we Brits with our stiff upper lip don’t believe all those medicines are helpful or necessary because we’re not used to being given so many. This is my fourth year now.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I am sorry to hear you have been ill, hope you are all better now!
    I found the whole healthcare treatment so different in Denmark than the UK – I went to the dentist in Denmark and it was crazy! I felt like I was on the Star ship Enterprise it felt that futuristic!! I hate waiting 5 years for an appointment in the UK though =(

    Like

    • It’s the never ending cold apparently but we’re on the mend, thank you. It’s a different kettle of fish when you go private, I guess. I’d like to know how much money goes into the NHS compared with the private hospitals abroad.

      Like

  3. I’m sorry you’ve all been ill but I did find this funny. Sorry. I find all your posts amusing. I was all up for moving to Thailand until I read the bit about the large bill 🙂

    Like

  4. Ha, I thought the quick appointment turn around was great, but then the cost isn’t so great I guess! The NHS definitely has some things right! 🙂 x

    Like

  5. Haha loved the comparison here!! It sounds fab! I have a mix of either good experiences with drs or bad. Never even a consistent good or bad to say lol. Must be lovely though to be dealt with so efficiently. Thanks for linking up with us on the #bigfatlinky hope to see you there next week

    Like

    • Efficiency is nice but you definitely feel like when you take your perfectly working car for an MOT and suddenly there are all these expensive things wrong with it :-). Thanks for hosting!

      Like

  6. Lol. My parents live in France and we always joke that when they go for a blood test they come out with a carrier bag full of stuff/. When my brother had his wisdom teeth out he needed a suitcase to bring home all the drugs! #bigfatlinky

    Like

  7. hmm… I have never had an issue getting a same day appointment in the UK, and the recent scan on my shoulder to 3 weeks to come through. I’ve never understood how other people have so much trouble getting to see a doctor in the UK??

    Great fun post though 🙂

    Like

    • Wow, that’s really good going. Are you some kind of VIP? Three weeks is still forever by Thai standards though. My MRI results we’re in the doctors hands by the time I’d made my way back to his room.

      Like

  8. This made me grin! Me and my wife married and honeymooned in Thailand and both got a 24 hour bug at different times. It felt like I was going to die and I panicked over a language barrier but they were so so good. In contrast, I called the dentist for an emergency appointment after a filling THEY had put it fell out 2 days later. So THEIR error and a situation I wouldnt be in if it wasnt for them. My ’emergency’ appointment was schedule for 4 weeks later!

    Like

  9. The U.S. is somewhere in between the two lol. And the insurance costs a lot and covers very little. I hope you are all feeling better. I hate being sick …it just doesn’t fit into my schedule. Thanks for linking up with me again at #momsterslink.

    Like

    • Thank you, we’re all slowly on the mend. No, it really doesn’t fit any schedules, especially when you’re a mum and can’t just disappear into bed for a few days.

      Like

  10. Oh man as I’m the worst hypochondriac ever I’m not sure this is good or bad! I’d be Dr Googling, getting seen and been given all these drugs!! haha. It’s a blessing when you have a baby though, as no worries about getting an appointment! xx #bigfatlinky

    Like

  11. The uk & Australia sound similar. What’s worse when your feeling like death and they say keep your fluids up & take some panadol …. you want to scream PANADOL where did you get your medical degree, panadol isn’t going to cut it!

    Like

  12. Interesting post. It’s always a scary feeling when you have to go to the doctor and you’re out of country. We had to take our little one in when in the USA last year and it was the same finger’s crossed feeling handing over our insurance. #bigfatlinky

    Like

  13. Just to be clear – you can get an appointment next Tuesday at your doctors?? Next Tuesday? Like an appointment the same year you called? What witchcraft is this?? (my last attempt to see doctor resulted in being booked for a TELEPHONE appointment 3 & 1/2 weeks later in order to determine when they would book me an actual appointment!) Interesting to hear about Thailand. #bigfatlinky

    Like

    • Jeez, that’s really bad! Yeah, I used to live in a teeny village in the middle of nowhere so there wasn’t too much competition for appointments, I guess.

      Like

  14. The NHS do somethings really well and others they are desperately inefficient waisting everyones time. Very interesting to hear about Thailand. I assume it is only for those with money. #momsterlink

    Like

    • Exactly. Thankfully my work provide myself and the Baby with pretty good insurance. Oddly enough the total often falls just below the insurance limit…

      Like

Leave a comment