How to Survive a Holiday with a Baby

Despite our mega-journey we actually had a lovely holiday in Spain. Here are some top tips I’ve garnered to help you make the most of your vacation with your horror.

 

1. Go self-catered.

This one was key for me. We stayed in a lovely villa with my parents and two of their friends. We had a fully equipped kitchen for me to prepare meals and snacks for the Baby. Jetlag plus the fact that the little guy is a touch high maintenance means he is not always on everyone else’s meal schedules, especially not the southern Spanish’s. I’d have hated rushing round trying to find somewhere open not full of smokers in the 8 and a half minutes we have between the Baby letting us know he’s hungry and a full meltdown ensuing.

We also had an outdoor eating area and portable highchair so he could throw three meals a day on the floor without any waiters glaring at me.

An added bonus was our villa came with it’s own pool. No getting up at the crack of dawn to grab a sunbed. No carrying three million things to take the baby swimming for 15 minutes and then trying to remember to take it all back again. Bliss. Plus the mummies could jump in for a quick swim and cheeky cocktail during mojito time nap time.

survive a holiday with a baby_NEW-page-001

We were lucky enough to have help with the accommodation from my parents  but house swapping and/or sharing a villa with friends is a great way to keep holiday costs down. Self catering is much cheaper than eating out for every meal for two weeks too.

2. Go with back up.

Lets face it, time spent with a one year old is not relaxing, and never will be. To combat this I recommend holidaying with other people who don’t yet know what spending hours and hours with a 1 year old is like. Top of my list would be grandparents who haven’t seen the baby for a few months and friends of a grandparent-ing age who don’t have grandchildren of their own and would like to borrow yours for a few hours. Gleefully hand him over and retreat inside for a siesta.

3. Go for a routine.

Ours came about naturally. He mostly had his meals at 7, 12 and 6. He napped around 9 and 1. He slept from 6.30-7.00pm. All these times were a little flexible and there were days where he missed naps but overall it made life easier. During the day at least. The little terror still hasn’t figured out sleeping through the night.

survive a holiday with a baby_NEW-page-001-1

4. Go out and about.

Loads of fun things to do and explore in a new place. All that stimulation is bound to wear out your tot and bring cocktail hour (aka bedtime) on a little faster.

5. Go for it.

We’ve put off going on holiday for ages as I thought it would just be a struggle but I really enjoyed myself. Might even consider another little trip in the next few months…if someone figures out teleportation by then.

 What are your tips for enjoying a holiday with kids?

The Dad Network

22 thoughts on “How to Survive a Holiday with a Baby

    • I was amazed how well ours went but I think we had quite realistic expectations. I knew I wouldn’t be sunbathing and reading this holiday 🙂

      Like

  1. Yes yes YES to your #2!

    Our first vacation with Chicken was not as stressful as we thought it would be – we had my parents AND my brother and his wifey (no cherubs for them just yet). The energy of Auntie and Uncle was so helpful, especially when Nana and PopPop lost theirs!

    We also only ‘scheduled’ a couple things…the rest of the week was basically improv. From my experience:
    Schedule + Chicken = Death of Schedule. Improv is the way to go! 😊

    Happy for you that you had a survivable holiday! ❤️

    Like

  2. I loved travelling and holidaying with my daughter when she was young. You are motel/bound when the child needs to sleep or hotel bound lol whatever you call it…but it is so fun and I’ve always just gone with the flow on holiday. I find the best holidays for me were when there were no commitments and we could do everything on our own schedule. So I agree with the self catering! Such fun and when I am well I will be sure to do a lot more travelling and holidaying again!

    Angela xx

    Like

  3. That’s the perfect trip with a little one. Jet lag is so hard – babies really struggle with it. My daughter & I traveled to the US when she was 21 months old. We stayed for one week & she never adjusted to US time until we were leaving. She was waking up ready for the day at 3am! This last trip, she’s a little bit older & did so much better! You have great tips for baby travel – especially your own space & family to help out! I’m so glad you enjoyed your holiday & will go again! #bigfatlinky x

    Like

    • The US must be tought. Isn’t that a 12 hour difference? We didn’t sleep a wink the whole 22 hour journey so actually slipped into the time change quite easily. The Baby’s just a terrible sleeper plus has was a bit poorly.

      Like

  4. yup, yup I wanted to go self catered this year but was beaten down by my Mum and Chris (to be fair I’m not the cook!!!) I’m hoping to next year as we may be able to get our girl in bed before 10pm. Parents are just THE BEST on holiday. Glad you had an awesome time and I love mojito hour!! xxx #bigfatlinky

    Like

  5. Perfect way of doing it. I agree with it being easiest if you can cook. So much easier! You still have the option to go out if you want but you don’t have to and it also helps getting into a routine.

    Like

Leave a comment